Hughes v. Smith County Jail Detention Settlement
This proposed class action settlement concerns allegations that Smith County held people at the Smith County Jail too long after they completed custodial felony sentences. The Court has granted preliminary approval, and Smith County denies liability.

Benefit Summary
Eligible class members: available benefits include At least $666.44 per day.
Payments come from the $1,500,000.00 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.
Available Awards
At least $666.44 per day
Who Is Included
The notice says County records identify people detained at the Smith County Jail for more than two days after completing a custodial felony sentence between July 11, 2021 and December 31, 2024.
- Proof required: A claim form is required. The notice does not state whether supporting documents are required for payment or what documents, if any, would be needed to validate a claim.
Claim and Payment Information
- Claim method: Online or mail using the prepaid envelope included with the notice.
- Claim deadline: 2026-11-02
- Instructions: Submit the claim form online or send the completed form to the Settlement Administrator using the prepaid envelope included with the notice.
Questions & Answers
Who can receive a settlement payment?
This notice is directed to people whom County records identify as falling within that detention period. The notice does not define “Compensable Detention” or explain how the number of payable days will be calculated.
- The notice says County records indicate that recipients were held at the Smith County Jail for more than two days after completing a custodial felony sentence between July 11, 2021, and December 31, 2024.
- To receive money, a person in the class must submit a timely, valid claim.
How much is the payment, and how will it be calculated?
The stated daily amount is a minimum, not a fixed total payment for every person. A person’s payment depends on the number of days treated as Compensable Detention and on having a timely, valid claim.
- The payment is at least $666.44 for each day of Compensable Detention.
- The notice sets aside $1,000,000 for payments to class members with valid claims.
- The notice does not explain how Compensable Detention is defined or how the days will be counted.
What must I do to seek payment, and do I need documents?
A claim form is required to receive money. The notice does not state what supporting documents, if any, must accompany the form or what information is needed for a claim to be considered valid.
- Submit the claim form online, or send the completed form to the Settlement Administrator using the prepaid envelope included with the notice.
- The deadline stated in the notice is November 2, 2026.
- The notice says a check will be mailed after the claim form is submitted.
What is the difference between doing nothing and opting out?
Opting out means leaving the settlement. The notice says this preserves the person’s ability to bring their own claims within the scope of the lawsuit, but it also means giving up any settlement payment and the right to object, appeal, or comment on the settlement.
- Doing nothing means no payment.
- A person who does nothing is still bound by the Settlement Agreement and releases the claims covered by it.
- A person who validly opts out receives no settlement payment but does not release claims to Smith County.
How do I opt out of the settlement?
A request to opt out must be mailed; the notice does not describe an online opt-out method.
- Mail a request for exclusion to the Settlement Administrator, postmarked by January 31, 2026.
- No exclusion form is provided.
- The request must include the case name and number; the person’s name, address, phone number, and last four Social Security number digits; a signature; and a statement asking to be excluded.
How can I object to the proposed settlement?
Objecting asks the Court to reject some or all of the proposed settlement. It does not allow a person to ask the Court to create a different settlement. A person who opts out cannot object.
- An objection must be in writing and filed or postmarked by January 31, 2026.
- It must state the reasons for the objection and include the case name and number, contact information, last four Social Security number digits, and a signature.
- It must be mailed to the Clerk of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas or filed in person at a court location in that district.
What is the Final Approval Hearing, and when will payment be sent?
The notice states that the settlement had preliminary approval when it was issued. It does not give a specific date for payments beyond saying that a check will be mailed after a claim form is submitted.
- The notice schedules the Final Approval Hearing for February 5, 2026, at 10:00 a.m. in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas in Tyler, Texas.
- The Court will consider the settlement’s fairness, the payment plan, the incentive award, and requested attorney fees and costs.
- The notice says the hearing may be moved without further notice.
Other Important Dates
- Exclusion deadline: 2026-01-31
- Objection deadline: 2026-01-31
- Final approval hearing: February 5, 2026 at 10:00 am
- Hearing location: United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas, 211 W. Ferguson Street, Tyler, TX 75702
Case Details
- Total settlement fund: $1,500,000.00
- Case name: Hughes v. Smith County
- Case number: 6:23-cv-344-JDK
- Court: United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas
- Official Settlement Website: https://smithcountysettlement.com
Sources
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits