Toyota IC Forklift Class Action Settlement
This proposed class action settlement concerns certain Toyota internal-combustion forklifts sold in the United States. People or businesses that purchased or leased a qualifying forklift may be covered. Covered members can seek cash compensation and may have access to forklift service and, if a qualifying recall occurs, warranty benefits. Remaining in the settlement releases claims about the issues in this case; leaving the settlement means no settlement benefits but may preserve the ability to bring an individual lawsuit.

Benefit Summary
Eligible class members: available benefits include Estimated $1,000–$2,500 per forklift, One free Service Plan visit, New Parts Warranty if qualifying recall.
Payments come from the $299,500,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.
Available Awards
Estimated $1,000–$2,500 per forklift
Who Is Included
The Settlement covers people and entities that bought or leased qualifying Toyota internal-combustion forklifts by January 20, 2026, subject to the listed exclusions.
- Products included: Toyota forklifts with internal-combustion engines built between 2007 and 2021 that were sold in the United States: 2014–2021 1KD, 2014–2021 1ZS, 2013–2021 1FS, and 2007–2021 4Y.
- Purchase window: On or before January 20, 2026
- Proof required: For cash compensation, claimants must submit a claim form and may be asked for supporting documents, including proof of ownership or lease. For a Service Plan visit, contact an authorized dealership with the forklift’s model and serial number. The notice does not state documentation requirements for the contingent New Parts Warranty.
Claim and Payment Information
- Claim method: Online submission or mail
- Claim deadline: 2026-09-22
- Instructions: Submit a claim for cash compensation. To use the free Service Plan visit, contact an authorized Toyota Material Handling dealership and provide the forklift model and serial number; the notice does not require a settlement claim form for that visit.
Questions & Answers
Which forklifts and owners or lessees are covered?
The settlement covers people and businesses that bought or leased a qualifying Toyota internal-combustion forklift. The notice identifies the qualifying engines and model years, so having the forklift’s model and serial number will be useful when checking coverage.
- The forklift must have been purchased or leased on or before January 20, 2026.
- It must be a Toyota forklift with one of the listed internal-combustion engines sold and/or leased in the United States: 2014–2021 1KD, 2014–2021 1ZS, 2013–2021 1FS, or 2007–2021 4Y.
- Certain people and businesses are excluded, including Defendants and their affiliates, authorized dealers and distributors, court personnel assigned to the case, Released Parties, and people or entities that properly opt out.
What must I do to seek cash compensation?
A cash payment is not automatic. A covered class member must submit a timely, valid, and complete claim. The notice does not say exactly when supporting documents will be required, only that claimants may be asked for them.
- Submit the Settlement Claim Form online or mail a downloaded form to the Settlement Administrator.
- The form must be submitted online or postmarked by September 22, 2026.
- The administrator may ask for documents, such as proof of ownership or lease. If a claim is incomplete or insufficient, the notice says the administrator will allow 30 days to provide missing information.
How is the cash payment calculated, especially if more than one person claims the same forklift?
The estimated payment is not guaranteed. It depends on the number of valid claims and whether other people claim the same forklift.
- After Court-approved fees, costs, service awards, and administration costs are deducted, the remaining fund is divided evenly among forklifts with valid claims.
- If multiple valid claimants claim the same forklift, the original purchaser who bought it new receives 60% of that forklift’s allocation. The other valid claimants divide the remaining 40% equally.
- The notice estimates roughly $1,000 to $2,500 per forklift, but says the amount could be about $820 if every covered forklift has a valid claim and the Court approves all listed fees, costs, and awards.
How do I arrange the free Service Plan visit, and what does it include?
The Service Plan visit is separate from the cash claim. The notice directs class members to schedule it through an authorized Toyota Material Handling dealership rather than through the cash-claim form.
- This benefit is for one operable Settlement Class Forklift in the United States.
- Contact a local authorized TMH dealership and provide the forklift’s model and serial number.
- The visit includes technician travel and labor for an inspection of major systems, certain maintenance work, and a choice of an oil change or transmission-fluid change.
- The request must be made within three years after the settlement’s Effective Date. The notice’s current schedule gives August 8, 2029 as the expected deadline.
When does the New Parts Warranty apply, and does it stay with the forklift if it is transferred?
The New Parts Warranty is conditional. It is not a general warranty for every covered forklift; it depends on a qualifying recall occurring by the stated date.
- The warranty is available only if Defendants offer a government-approved or government-authorized recall for a covered engine by October 31, 2028.
- If that happens, it covers new engine parts installed as part of that recall.
- Its terms will match the new-parts warranty provided in the qualifying recall.
- Eligibility for both the Service Plan visit and the New Parts Warranty transfers with the forklift during the applicable benefit period.
What happens if I stay in the settlement but do nothing?
Staying in the settlement affects legal rights even if no claim is submitted. The notice calls this giving a “Release,” meaning class members generally cannot separately sue over the same issues resolved here.
- Class members who do not opt out release claims against the Defendants and related entities about the issues covered by this lawsuit.
- That release applies even to people who do not receive a payment or another settlement benefit.
- The notice says the release does not prevent participation in a future government-required buyback program, if one is required.
What does opting out involve, and what would I give up?
Opting out means leaving the settlement. It gives up all settlement benefits and generally preserves the ability to bring an individual lawsuit about the issues in this case. The notice contains conflicting opt-out deadlines, so its stated deadline cannot be reliably summarized from this notice alone.
- To opt out, send the Settlement Administrator a letter or other written request by mail or email.
- The request must include contact information, the forklift model-serial number or numbers, ownership or lease dates, a clear statement that the sender wants to be excluded, and a personal signature.
- An electronic signature, including DocuSign, is not accepted. A lawyer’s signature alone is generally not valid, except for in-house counsel signing for a business that is not a natural person.
- Someone who opts out gets no settlement payment, Service Plan visit, or New Parts Warranty, but is not bound by the settlement.
Can I object to the settlement, and what must I include?
Objecting means asking the Court not to approve some part of the settlement or the requested attorneys’ fees, costs, or service awards. A person cannot both object and opt out.
- An objection must be filed with the Court by June 1, 2026.
- The written objection must identify the case, provide the objector’s contact information and forklift information or comparable proof of class membership, state that the objector has not opted out, and explain the objection with supporting evidence, arguments, and legal authority.
- Objecting does not require submitting a cash claim, but a class member must still submit a claim to receive cash compensation.
What source limits or inconsistencies should I know about?
The official notice contains wording that does not line up cleanly in every place. We have not guessed at a resolution; check the notice and confirm important details before acting.
- The new-parts warranty depends on a qualifying recall by October 31, 2028, but the notice does not state the procedure for obtaining that warranty.
- The notice gives June 1, 2026 as the opt-out deadline in one place and June 1, 2025 in another. The correct opt-out deadline cannot be resolved from the notice alone.
Other Important Dates
- Final approval hearing: July 9, 2026 at 2:30 p.m.
- Hearing location: United States Courthouse, 450 Golden Gate Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94102
Case Details
- Total settlement fund: $299,500,000
- Case name: Broadmoor Lumber & Plywood Co., et al. v. Toyota Industries Corp., et al.
- Case number: 3:24-cv-06640-JSC
- Court: United States District Court for the Northern District of California
- Administrator: Toyota Forklift Settlement Administrator
- Official Settlement Website: https://www.ForkliftSettlement.com
Sources
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits