Expired listingThe listed claim deadline was 2026-06-02. This page remains available for reference; check the official settlement website for any later updates.

Aurobindo Irbesartan Consumer Settlement: Who Was Covered

The proposed settlement created a $2,000,000 fund to pay consumers a pro rata share for retail purchases of irbesartan manufactured by Aurobindo. The claim deadline passed on June 2, 2026, and the court has not granted final approval.

Aurobindo Irbesartan Consumer Economic Loss Settlement

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members may receive Settlement payment (amount not stated).

Payments come from the $2,000,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Settlement payment (amount not stated)

Who Is Included

The consumer class covers individuals in the United States and its territories and possessions who paid any amount for qualifying retail purchases of Aurobindo IC ROS Irbesartan from January 1, 2016 to the present, subject to the listed exclusions.

  • Products included: Irbesartan finished drug formulations manufactured using Aurobindo irbesartan API that was manufactured using Aurobindo’s IC Route of Synthesis (IC ROS Irbesartan).
  • Purchase window: January 1, 2016 to the present
  • Proof required: The notice says consumer claims should include supporting documentation if possible. The administrator reviews the claim information and may require additional documentation, such as pharmacy proof of purchase, to approve a claim.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or mailed paper Claim Form
  • Claim deadline: 2026-06-02
  • Instructions: Submit a Claim Form online or download a paper form and mail it. Include purchase documentation if possible; the administrator may request additional pharmacy proof while reviewing the claim.

Questions & Answers

What purchases may qualify for the consumer settlement?

This settlement is limited to certain consumer purchases of Aurobindo IC ROS Irbesartan. It is not enough simply to have used irbesartan; the purchase and product must fit the notice’s definition.

  • You must be an individual in the United States, its territories, or possessions.
  • You must have paid some money for a retail purchase during the stated period.
  • The medication must be an irbesartan finished-drug formulation made using Aurobindo irbesartan API produced through its IC Route of Synthesis.
  • Several categories are excluded, including pharmacy benefit managers, most government entities, personal-injury plaintiffs or claimants in the MDL, and people who timely exclude themselves.

What records should I provide with my claim?

A Claim Form is required. Supporting records are encouraged because they may help avoid a delay, but the notice describes the need for additional proof as something the administrator may determine while reviewing a claim.

  • Send records supporting your qualifying purchase if you can.
  • The administrator will decide whether the information is enough to accept the claim.
  • The administrator may ask your pharmacy for proof of purchase or ask you for additional documentation.
  • The notice does not say that every claim must include the same specific document at the time it is filed.

How much might an individual consumer receive?

The notice does not promise a particular payment to an individual consumer. What is available for payments depends on deductions from the fund and on an allocation method that the notice says will be determined by class counsel and reviewed as described there.

  • The settlement fund is $2 million before deductions.
  • Attorneys’ fees and expenses, notice and administration costs, and service awards may be taken from the fund.
  • The remaining fund is to be allocated between consumers and Third-Party Payors.
  • The notice does not give a per-person payment amount or a formula for calculating one.

When would payments be sent?

The June hearing is not a payment date. Payment timing depends on later steps described in the settlement agreement and the Court’s final approval order.

  • The Court is scheduled to consider final approval on June 30, 2026.
  • Even if the Court approves the settlement, payments come only after the settlement’s effective date and any payment timetable in the Court’s final approval order.
  • The notice does not give a specific payment date.

What is required to exclude myself from the settlement?

Opting out means leaving the settlement. You would not be eligible for a settlement payment, but you would not be bound by the settlement and could pursue your own claim about the issues addressed by it.

  • To leave the settlement, send a written exclusion request by mail so that it is postmarked or received by June 2, 2026.
  • The request must give your full name, current address, telephone number, and a clear statement that you want to be excluded from the settlement class and any resulting judgment.
  • Purchase-identification information is requested if available, but it is not required for exclusion.
  • An exclusion is individual only; a class-wide exclusion request is treated as made only for the person who submitted it.

Are there extra requirements if I email my exclusion request?

These extra instructions apply to the email option. The notice gives a mailing option as well, with its own listed requirements.

  • The notice also permits email submission of a scanned exclusion request.
  • For email, you must use the downloadable PDF exclusion form, print it, complete and sign it, then scan it.
  • An emailed form must include purchase documentation or a declaration that you cannot provide documentation.

What do I need to know before objecting?

Objecting means asking the Court not to approve some part of the settlement. You must stay in the class to object, so you would give up the right to separately sue over claims released by this settlement if it receives final approval.

  • You cannot both object and exclude yourself.
  • An objection must include your contact information, purchase identification and supporting purchase documentation, a statement that you are a class member, your reasons and supporting materials, and information about prior class-action settlement objections made by you or your lawyer during the previous five years.
  • If you want a payment as well as objecting, you still must submit a Claim Form.

Does this settlement address personal injury, medical monitoring, losartan, or valsartan claims?

This notice is not a settlement of every claim involving these medications. Its stated scope is limited.

  • The notice says this settlement concerns economic-loss claims related to the specified Aurobindo irbesartan.
  • It does not include or affect medical-monitoring or personal-injury claims.
  • It also does not include claims about losartan or valsartan.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-06-02
  • Objection deadline: 2026-06-02
  • Final approval hearing: 10:00 am on Tuesday, June 30, 2026
  • Hearing location: Courtroom 3D of the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $2,000,000
  • Case name: In re: Valsartan, Losartan, and Irbesartan Products Liability Litigation
  • Case number: 1:19-md-02875-RBK-SAK
  • Court: United States District Court for the District of New Jersey
  • Administrator: Sartan Medication Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.SartanMedicationSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-07