Heritage Federal Credit Union Overdraft Fee Settlement: Who Gets Paid

The proposed $635,000 settlement covers Heritage Federal Credit Union members, past and present, charged overdraft fees between December 20, 2012 and April 8, 2025. Payments are automatic: an account credit for current members, a check for former members. No claim form is required; the court has not yet approved it.

Heritage Federal Credit Union Overdraft Fee Settlement
Automatic

Benefit Summary

Current members: Current or former Heritage members assessed qualifying fees in the December 20, 2012–April 8, 2025 class period. The March 6, 2026 order defines an APSN class for debit transactions authorized on sufficient funds and settled on negative funds in the same authorized amount, and a Regulation E class for covered debit-card/ATM fees on transactions that did not overdraw the account. This does not include every overdraft fee. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf Payment route: Current members.

Current Heritage Federal Credit Union members will receive an account credit. The amount comes from the remaining Settlement Fund after approved deductions and is allocated under formulas in the settlement agreement.

Former members: Current or former Heritage members assessed qualifying fees in the December 20, 2012–April 8, 2025 class period. The March 6, 2026 order defines an APSN class for debit transactions authorized on sufficient funds and settled on negative funds in the same authorized amount, and a Regulation E class for covered debit-card/ATM fees on transactions that did not overdraw the account. This does not include every overdraft fee. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf Payment route: Former members.

Former Heritage Federal Credit Union members will receive a check from the Settlement Administrator. The amount comes from the remaining Settlement Fund after approved deductions and is allocated under formulas in the settlement agreement.

The $635,000 fund is reduced by approved deductions. The March 6, 2026 final order awards $211,666.67 in attorney fees, $49,077.02 in litigation expenses, and a $10,000 service award. Administrator and other applicable settlement expenses also affect the net fund. The notice’s 40–60-day payment estimate is historical and does not confirm that money was sent. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

Available Awards

Current members: Account credit; Former members: Settlement check

Who Is Included

Current or former Heritage members assessed qualifying fees in the December 20, 2012–April 8, 2025 class period. The March 6, 2026 order defines an APSN class for debit transactions authorized on sufficient funds and settled on negative funds in the same authorized amount, and a Regulation E class for covered debit-card/ATM fees on transactions that did not overdraw the account. This does not include every overdraft fee. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

  • Proof required: No claim is required. The notice says Heritage Federal Credit Union’s records identify class members; it does not state that members must provide loss documents or other supporting documentation to receive payment.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Instructions: No claim form is required. Qualifying members receive payment under the approved record-based distribution plan; ask the administrator about current payment status.

Questions & Answers

How much will I receive, and how will I be paid?

The notice does not say what any individual payment or credit will be. It also does not say when a person’s status as a current or former member is determined.

The $635,000 fund is reduced by approved deductions. The March 6, 2026 final order awards $211,666.67 in attorney fees, $49,077.02 in litigation expenses, and a $10,000 service award. Administrator and other applicable settlement expenses also affect the net fund. The notice’s 40–60-day payment estimate is historical and does not confirm that money was sent. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

  • The notice does not give a fixed dollar amount for each person. The available fund is reduced by Court-approved attorneys’ fees and costs, a possible service award for the Named Plaintiff, fee-expert expenses, and settlement-administration costs. The remaining money is divided under formulas in the settlement agreement, which are not included in this notice.
  • Current members are to receive an account credit. Former members are to receive a check from the Settlement Administrator.

Do I need to file a claim or provide proof to get paid?

  • No claim form is required. Qualifying members are identified from credit-union records and payment follows the approved distribution plan.
  • The notice says people sent a postcard or email were identified in the credit union’s records as Class Members. It does not state that you must send receipts, fee records, or other supporting documents for an automatic payment.

What was the deadline to leave the settlement?

The December 24, 2025 exclusion deadline has passed. These are the notice’s historical instructions, not a currently open option.

  • To leave the settlement, mail a letter saying that you elect to be excluded from the Kevin Lowe v. Heritage Federal Credit Union class action. Include your name, the last four digits of your current or former account number or numbers, mailing address, telephone number, and email address.
  • Mail the request to the Settlement Administrator at P.O. Box 301130, Los Angeles, CA 90030-1130. It must be postmarked by December 24, 2025.
  • If you opt out, you will not receive money or an account credit from this settlement. In return, you keep any right you may have to bring your own claim against Heritage Federal Credit Union over the claims alleged in this case.

What was required to object?

The December 24, 2025 objection deadline has passed. The final order states that no class members objected or requested exclusion. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

  • You may object only if you stay in the settlement. Mail a written objection to the Settlement Administrator, postmarked by December 24, 2025.
  • State that you are a Class Member, what you object to, the factual and legal reasons, and whether you plan to attend the hearing. Include your name, address, telephone number, email address if applicable, and signature.
  • An objection does not remove you from the settlement. If the Court rejects the objections and approves the settlement, you remain eligible for a payment but give up claims covered by the case.

Has the settlement been approved, and have payments been sent?

The Court granted final approval on March 6, 2026 and approved the distribution plan. The notice previously estimated payments or credits about 40–60 days after approval, subject to delays; that estimate does not verify actual distribution. For current payment status or address changes, contact the administrator at 1-888-777-6530 or P.O. Box 301130, Los Angeles, CA 90030-1130. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

Does every overdraft fee qualify?

Current or former Heritage members assessed qualifying fees in the December 20, 2012–April 8, 2025 class period. The March 6, 2026 order defines an APSN class for debit transactions authorized on sufficient funds and settled on negative funds in the same authorized amount, and a Regulation E class for covered debit-card/ATM fees on transactions that did not overdraw the account. This does not include every overdraft fee. Order checked September 9, 2026: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/media/6774280/heo_order_granting_final_approval.pdf

The notice’s front page uses a broad overdraft-fee description, while the later final order specifies the two certified fee classes. Contact the administrator if you are unsure whether your fee is covered.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2025-12-24
  • Objection deadline: 2025-12-24
  • Final approval hearing: March 6, 2026 at 9:00 a.m. (past hearing)
  • Hearing location: Warrick County Circuit Court, Warrick County Courthouse, One County Square, #360, Boonville, Indiana 47601

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $635,000.00
  • Case name: Kevin Lowe v. Heritage Federal Credit Union
  • Case number: 87C01-2212-PL-002165
  • Court: Circuit Court of Warrick County, Indiana
  • Administrator: Verita
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.lowebankfeessettlement.com/

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-01