The proposed settlement covers U.S. TED account holders who watched videos on TED.com or the TED apps from October 19, 2021 to July 14, 2026. Each class member gets two free months of TED Membership, or can claim by October 26, 2026 to pick $5.00 cash or donate it. The court has not yet approved the settlement.

Benefit Summary
Settlement Class Members: People in the United States who held a TED account and watched a pre-recorded video on TED.com or TED’s iOS or Android mobile applications between October 19, 2021 and July 14, 2026.
TED Membership Benefit: Two free months of TED Membership, estimated to have at least a $10.00 value. Available automatically if the member agrees to activate the benefit.
Cash payment option: A $5.00 cash payment, subject to a pro rata reduction based on valid claims and the $350,000 cash-payment cap. A filed claim must be approved by the Settlement Administrator. Payment is by check unless PayPal or Venmo is selected.
Donation option: Choose to have the cash payment donated to TED Foundation instead of receiving it yourself. This requires an approved claim and replaces the membership benefit; it does not exclude you from the settlement.
Choose one of these benefit packages; they are alternatives for this group.
TED caps total cash paid to class members at $350,000; that limit does not cover the membership benefit or its privacy commitments. Individual cash payments may be reduced below $5 if valid claims exceed that amount. Benefits are scheduled 60 days after final approval and completion of any appeals. Checks expire after 180 days.
Available Awards
See benefit details OR Up to $5 cash OR See benefit details
Who Is Included
The Settlement Class includes U.S. TED account holders who watched a pre-recorded video on TED.com or TED’s iOS or Android mobile applications between October 19, 2021 and July 14, 2026.
- Proof required: A Claim Form is required to choose cash or the donation option. The notice does not state whether supporting documents are required for a claim.
Claim and Payment Information
- Claim method: Online claim; mailed form available by request
- Claim deadline: 2026-10-26
- Instructions: Cash or donation requires a claim by October 26, 2026. The official portal uses Claim ID and PIN. The membership option requires activation, but no claim form. A standalone paper form was not found on the public documents page; ask 1-888-312-3966 for paper filing help.
Questions & Answers
Who is included in this settlement?
The settlement class covers U.S. TED account holders who watched a pre-recorded video on TED.com or TED’s iOS or Android mobile apps between October 19, 2021 and July 14, 2026. The notice does not list additional exclusions.
What can I receive, and can I get more than one option?
The choices are alternatives. You cannot receive the two free months of TED Membership if you choose either the cash or donation option.
- Do nothing if you want the membership benefit. TED says eligible class members will automatically receive a link, but must agree to activate the benefit.
- Submit a Claim Form by October 26, 2026 if you want cash or want the cash amount donated to TED Foundation Inc.
What is the TED Membership Benefit?
If you remain in the settlement and do not choose cash or donation, TED says it will send eligible class members a link to activate this benefit after the settlement is final and any appeals process is complete.
- The benefit is two free months of TED Membership.
- It is estimated to be worth at least $10.00.
- You must agree to activate it.
- You do not need to submit a Claim Form for this option.
What do I need to do to choose cash or a donation?
An approved claim is required for cash or donation. On September 9, 2026, https://www.tedvppasettlement.com/ required an eight-digit Claim ID and four-digit PIN from your notice; each ID can be used once. Call 1-888-312-3966 if you cannot find them.
- Submit by October 26, 2026. The portal lists 11:59 p.m. without a time zone, so confirm the cutoff if filing near the deadline.
- The notice allows a printed mailed form, but the public documents list at https://www.tedvppasettlement.com/documents did not contain a standalone claim form when checked. Ask the administrator for the form and mail instructions if needed.
- The notice does not specify whether receipts or other supporting documents are required; the authenticated form could not be inspected without a claimant ID, so its full requirements were not independently verified.
How much cash could I receive and how would it be paid?
The $350,000 limit applies to cash payments. It is not stated as a limit on the TED Membership Benefit.
- The stated cash amount is $5.00 before any reduction.
- TED will pay no more than $350,000 total in cash to class members who select cash.
- Your amount depends on the number of valid claims, and may be reduced proportionately.
- An approved cash claim is paid by check unless you choose PayPal or Venmo.
- A check expires 180 days after it is issued.
What happens if I select the donation option?
The notice identifies TED Foundation Inc. as a registered 501(c)(3) private foundation and encourages class members to consult a tax adviser about whether a donation is deductible.
- Choose the donation option on a Claim Form by October 26, 2026.
- You will give up receiving the cash payment; the amount will be sent as a donation to TED Foundation Inc.
- You will not receive the membership benefit.
- Choosing donation is not the same as excluding yourself. You remain part of the settlement and are bound by its release of claims.
What privacy-related changes did TED agree to make?
These are changes TED agreed to make under the settlement. The notice does not describe them as a separate payment or an option that class members need to claim.
- TED will offer certain U.S. account holders an affirmative consent choice when their event data will be sent to Open Web.
- TED will stop sending U.S. account holders’ first and last names or email addresses to Mixpanel.
- TED will use reasonable efforts to stop storing existing such data in Mixpanel.
- TED says it no longer uses Leanplum.
How do I exclude myself, and what does that change?
Leaving the settlement means you receive no settlement benefit, including no TED Membership Benefit, but retain any rights you may have to sue TED about the claims in this case. If you stay in the settlement, you release the claims covered by the settlement even if you do not submit a claim.
- To leave the settlement, send a signed exclusion request by mail or delivery no later than October 26, 2026.
- Include your name, address, signature, the case name and number, and a statement that you want to be excluded.
- Send it to the TED Settlement Administrator at 1060 Broadway Suite 310, Albany, NY 12204.
Can I object to the settlement or speak at the hearing?
The Final Approval Hearing is scheduled for 3:00 p.m. on November 12, 2026, in Courtroom 905 at the Thurgood Marshall United States Courthouse, 40 Foley Square, New York, NY 10007. The notice says the hearing could be moved.
This is a summary of the objection process. Follow notice questions 17 and 21 for every requirement and recipient, including disclosure of certain prior paid objection dismissals and the information required for an intent-to-appear notice. Copies to both sides’ counsel must be postmarked by October 26.
- You must remain in the settlement class to object.
- File an objection with the Court and mail copies to Class Counsel and TED’s counsel by October 26, 2026.
- Your written objection must give your reasons and supporting materials, identify your basis for being a class member, provide specified attorney information, and include your signature.
- If you want to speak at the hearing, say so in your objection and include the required notice of intent to appear.
When would benefits be sent?
The November 12, 2026 hearing is when the court is scheduled to consider whether to approve the settlement. That date does not itself mean that approval or payment will occur.
- The court has not yet approved the settlement.
- If it is approved, benefits are scheduled for 60 days after final approval and/or completion of any appeals process.
- Cash claims must also be approved by the settlement administrator.
Other Important Dates
- Exclusion deadline: 2026-10-26
- Objection deadline: 2026-10-26
- Final approval hearing: November 12, 2026, 3:00 p.m.
- Hearing location: Courtroom 905, Thurgood Marshall United States Courthouse, 40 Foley Square, New York, NY 10007
Case Details
- Case name: Sutton v. TED Foundation Inc.
- Case number: 1:23-cv-09219-DEH
- Court: United States District Court for the Southern District of New York
- Administrator: TED Settlement Administrator
- Official Settlement Website: https://www.TedVPPASettlement.com
Sources
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits