Riverside Resort & Casino Data Incident Settlement: How to Claim

The proposed settlement covers people notified that their private information was compromised in the July 2024 cyberattack on Riverside Resort & Casino. Class members can claim up to $3,000 for documented out-of-pocket losses, including up to three hours of lost time at $20 per hour, or a one-time alternative cash payment expected to be $75 for California residents and $50 for residents elsewhere that needs no proof or explanation; credit monitoring with $1 million in financial fraud insurance is included. Benefits are capped at $1,000,000 in aggregate and reduced pro rata if claims exceed it. Claims are due January 4, 2027 and the final approval hearing is January 27, 2027; the court has not yet given final approval.

Riverside Data Incident Settlement
No-Proof OptionMonitoring New

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members: choose one: 1 year credit monitoring plus Up to $3,000 documented losses plus Up to $60 lost time or 1 year credit monitoring plus Estimated $75 CA / $50 other states.

Aggregate benefits cap: $1,000,000.00.

Available Awards

Up to $3,000 documented losses + Up to $60 lost time OR Estimated $75 CA / $50 other states

Who Is Included

U.S. residents who were sent notification that their private information was compromised in the Riverside Data Incident discovered in or around July 2024, subject to the listed exclusions.

  • Proof required: Out-of-pocket loss claims require proof such as bank statements or receipts showing the amount and that the expense resulted from the Data Incident; self-prepared notes alone are insufficient. The alternative cash payment requires no proof or explanation. The notice does not state a separate documentation requirement for lost-time claims.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or mail
  • Claim deadline: 2027-01-04
  • Instructions: Submit a completed Claim Form online, or download a form from the settlement website and mail it to the Settlement Administrator. A paper form may also be requested by phone, email, or mail.

Questions & Answers

Who is included in this settlement?

The settlement class is limited to people who received the stated notification. A possible exposure alone is not the class definition in this notice.

  • You must live in the United States and have been sent a notification saying your private information was compromised in the Riverside data incident discovered in or around July 2024.
  • Riverside and its officers, directors, and related companies are excluded. The parties’ attorneys, the judge, and the judge’s family and staff are also excluded.

What benefits can I claim, and which ones can I combine?

A class member may claim credit monitoring along with cash benefits. The alternative cash payment cannot be combined with reimbursement or lost-time payments. Its amount can go up or down depending on the total number of claims.

  • One year of CyEx Financial Shield Total credit monitoring, which includes $1 million in financial fraud insurance and the monitoring services described in the notice.
  • Reimbursement of actual documented out-of-pocket losses, including any lost-time claim, up to a combined $3,000 cap.
  • Or, instead of other payments, a one-time alternative cash payment expected to be $75 for California residents and $50 for residents of other states.

What do I need to claim reimbursement for out-of-pocket losses?

The notice gives examples including identity-theft or fraud losses, credit-related fees, replacement ID costs, and postage for contacting banks by mail.

  • The loss must have happened from July 25, 2024, through January 4, 2027.
  • You need records such as bank statements or receipts that show the amount lost or spent and support a connection to the data incident.
  • Notes or other papers you created yourself may help explain other evidence, but cannot prove a claim by themselves.
  • You cannot claim expenses already repaid by someone else.

Can I get paid for time I spent dealing with the incident?

The notice does not state a separate documentation requirement for a lost-time claim. It does state that the claim must be for time spent on data-incident-related tasks.

  • You may claim up to three hours at $20 per hour, for no more than $60.
  • The time must have been spent responding to the data incident. Examples include changing passwords, checking suspicious account activity, or researching the incident.
  • The lost-time amount counts toward the overall $3,000 cap for out-of-pocket expenses.

What is the alternative cash payment?

This option is different from documented-loss reimbursement. It is a one-time payment rather than repayment of specific expenses.

  • The alternative payment is expected to be $75 for California residents and $50 for residents of other states.
  • You do not need to provide proof or an explanation for this payment.
  • You must choose it instead of other payments, and the final amount may be higher or lower depending on total claims.

How and when do I submit a claim?

Submitting a valid, timely claim is the only way to receive settlement benefits or payments.

  • Submit a Claim Form online by January 4, 2027.
  • Or mail a completed and signed Claim Form, with supporting documentation when required, postmarked by January 4, 2027.
  • You can download a form or ask the Settlement Administrator for a paper copy by phone, email, or mail.

Could my payment be reduced, and when would benefits be issued?

The listed payment figures are therefore not guarantees of what each claimant will ultimately receive.

  • The total value of benefits is capped at $1,000,000.
  • If the value of all claimed benefits is more than that amount, payments will be reduced proportionally.
  • Benefits will be distributed only if the court grants final approval and any appeals are resolved.

What happens if I do nothing or choose to opt out?

Opting out is different from objecting. A person who opts out cannot object because the settlement no longer affects that person.

  • If you do nothing, you will not receive a settlement benefit.
  • Unless you opt out, you remain in the class and give up the rights described in the settlement’s release.
  • To leave the settlement, submit, mail, or email a valid exclusion request by December 4, 2026. You would receive no settlement benefit, but would keep any rights you may have to sue Riverside yourself about the issues in this case.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-12-04
  • Objection deadline: 2026-12-04
  • Final approval hearing: January 27, 2027, at 11:00 am Central Time
  • Hearing location: Columbia County Courthouse, 400 DeWitt Street, Portage, WI 53901

Case Details

  • Case name: Dapello, et al. v. Riverside Resort & Casino, Inc. and Riverside Resort & Casino, LLC
  • Case number: 2026CV000097
  • Court: Circuit Court for Columbia County, Wisconsin
  • Administrator: Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.RiversideDataSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-17