Physicians Primary Care Data Incident Settlement

This proposed settlement concerns a September 2024 cyberattack involving Physicians’ Primary Care computer systems. Eligible people can submit a claim for available settlement benefits. The court has not decided whether Physicians’ Primary Care did anything wrong.

Physicians Primary Care Data Incident Settlement
deadline September 29, 2026
with proof Up to $5,000 documented losses
status Proposed settlement
Note: This is an informational summary only. Official terms, full details, and claim forms are on the administrator site and court documents.

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members: available benefits include Two years of medical data monitoring, Up to $5,000 documented losses.

The notice does not state a total settlement fund, benefit cap, or common fund deductions.

Available Awards

Up to $5,000 documented losses

Who Is Included

Living adults in the United States whose Private Information may have been impacted in the September 2024 Data Incident, including people who received a Data Incident notice from Physicians’ Primary Care. Excludes the defendant’s directors, officers, and agents; governmental entities; the assigned judge’s immediate family; and court staff.

  • Proof required: Online claims must be submitted by the deadline. A mailed Claim Form must be completed and signed. Reasonable supporting records, such as receipts, are required for documented-loss reimbursement; a personal certification alone is insufficient. The notice does not state that loss documents are required for medical monitoring.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or U.S. mail
  • Claim deadline: 2026-09-29
  • Instructions: Submit a completed Claim Form online or download the form from the settlement website and mail it to the Settlement Administrator. Include supporting documentation when seeking reimbursement for out-of-pocket losses.

Questions & Answers

Can I request both medical data monitoring and payment for losses?

Can I request both medical data monitoring and payment for losses?

  • The notice presents medical data monitoring and the cash-payment option as benefits that all Settlement Class Members may claim. In other words, a person who qualifies for documented-loss reimbursement may also request the monitoring service; the notice does not describe these as either-or choices.
  • The reimbursement has its own conditions. You must have actual, documented out-of-pocket losses caused by the Data Incident.

What does the two-year medical data monitoring benefit include?

Medical data monitoring is not cash. It is a service intended to help identify certain medical-identity concerns and help address them.

  • The service is CyEx Medical Shield Complete and lasts two years.
  • It includes up to $1 million in medical identity theft insurance.
  • It monitors healthcare insurance ID exposure, Medical Record Number exposure, and unauthorized Health Savings Account spending.
  • A fraud-resolution agent is available if suspicious activity is found.

What losses may qualify for reimbursement?

The $5,000 figure is a maximum for documented losses, not a flat payment available to every class member.

  • The maximum reimbursement is $5,000.
  • The loss must be an actual out-of-pocket loss caused by the Data Incident and incurred from September 17, 2024 through September 29, 2026.
  • Examples include identity-theft or fraud losses, certain credit-related fees, ID replacement costs, and postage used to contact banks.
  • You cannot claim an expense already reimbursed by someone else, such as a third party.

What proof is needed for the documented-loss payment?

Keep records for any loss-reimbursement request. A statement signed by you alone does not meet the notice's documentation standard.

  • Send reasonable records showing both the amount you spent or lost and the connection to the Data Incident. Receipts are one example.
  • A personal certification, declaration, or affidavit by itself is not enough. It may be included only to explain or support other reasonable documentation.
  • The notice does not state that supporting documents are needed to request the medical monitoring service. Documentation is specifically required for the documented-loss payment.

How do I claim a benefit, and what is the deadline?

You must make a claim to receive a benefit. Simply remaining in the settlement does not enroll you in monitoring or send a payment.

  • You may submit a Claim Form online or download a printable form and mail it to the Settlement Administrator.
  • Online claims must be submitted by September 29, 2026.
  • Mailed claims must be completed and signed, include supporting documentation, and be postmarked by September 29, 2026.
  • The notice says a valid and timely Claim Form is the only way to receive either benefits or payments.

When could benefits or payments be issued?

The September 29, 2026 claim deadline is not a promised payment date. Timing depends on court approval and whether any appeals need to be resolved.

  • The Court's final approval hearing is scheduled for September 14, 2026.
  • If the Court approves the settlement, appeals may still occur.
  • Benefits and payments will be distributed only after final approval and resolution of any appeals. The notice does not give a specific distribution date.

What happens if I opt out of the settlement?

Opting out is different from objecting. It is the choice to leave the settlement, rather than remain in it and tell the Court you disagree with it.

  • Opting out means formally excluding yourself from the settlement.
  • If you opt out, you cannot receive settlement benefits, including monitoring or a cash payment.
  • You keep any rights you may have to bring your own case about the legal issues covered here.
  • To opt out, mail an Opt-Out Request with the required case information, your contact information, your personal signature, and a clear statement that you do not want to participate. It must be postmarked by August 30, 2026.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-08-30
  • Objection deadline: 2026-08-30
  • Final approval hearing: September 14, 2026 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time
  • Hearing location: Virtually via Zoom (Meeting ID: 896 600 3281)

Case Details

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-09-17