Okanogan Behavioral Healthcare Data Incident Settlement

This proposed settlement concerns a May 2024 OBHC data incident. People who received OBHC's written notification may be able to submit a claim for benefits, subject to the notice's requirements.

Okanogan Behavioral Healthcare Data Incident Settlement
deadline December 1, 2026
status Proposed Settlement
Note: This is an informational summary only. Official terms, full details, and claim forms are on the administrator site and court documents.

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members: choose one: Up to $300 plus Up to $5,000 plus 2 years of monitoring plus Security improvements or Up to $300 plus Up to $5,000 plus $50 cash payment plus Security improvements.

Available Awards

Up to $300 + Up to $5,000 OR Up to $300 + Up to $5,000 + $50 cash payment

Who Is Included

You may be included if OBHC mailed you written notification that your Private Information was potentially compromised in its Data Incident discovered in May 2024.

  • Proof required: All claimants must submit a Claim Form, and claims may be reviewed by the Settlement Administrator or a claims referee. Ordinary-loss reimbursement requires necessary supporting documentation. Extraordinary-loss reimbursement requires documentation of the actual, unreimbursed loss and reasonable efforts to avoid or obtain reimbursement for it, including exhaustion of available credit-monitoring and identity-theft insurance. The notice does not state that supporting loss documents are required for the $50 cash payment or credit monitoring.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or mail
  • Claim deadline: 2026-12-01
  • Instructions: Submit a Claim Form online or mail it. Select the credit monitoring option on the form if you want monitoring.

Questions & Answers

Who is included in the settlement?

The notice bases class membership on whether you were mailed OBHC’s data-incident notice. It does not say that every OBHC patient is included.

  • You are in the Settlement Class if OBHC mailed you written notice saying your Private Information may have been compromised in the data incident discovered in May 2024.
  • The class excludes OBHC and its officers and directors, people who validly exclude themselves, the assigned judges and their staff and family, and certain people found criminally responsible for causing or helping cause the incident.

What benefits can I request, and which ones can be combined?

The loss reimbursements have separate limits and conditions. The notice says the $50 payment may be requested along with ordinary- and extraordinary-loss reimbursement requests. It does not clearly state whether credit monitoring can also be requested with those reimbursements.

  • Ordinary losses: up to $300 for documented out-of-pocket costs caused by the incident, such as unreimbursed bank fees, certain phone or data charges, postage, and qualifying gasoline and mileage costs.
  • Extraordinary losses: up to $5,000 for documented monetary losses that were not reimbursed, were more likely than not caused by the incident, and meet the notice’s other conditions.
  • Credit monitoring: two years of CyEx Medical Shield Complete, including $1 million in identity-theft protection insurance.
  • Instead of monitoring, you may request a one-time $50 cash payment.

What documents do I need for a claim?

The notice does not specify whether separate supporting documents are needed for the $50 cash payment or credit monitoring. A signature, claim form, or notice alone is not described as loss documentation.

  • For ordinary losses, send the necessary supporting documents with a valid, timely claim.
  • For extraordinary losses, document the actual unreimbursed loss and show reasonable efforts to avoid the loss or obtain reimbursement. This includes using available credit-monitoring and identity-theft insurance.
  • A Claim Form is required for every settlement benefit.

How and when do I submit a claim?

The notice does not state when approved claims will be paid or when monitoring will begin.

  • Submit the Claim Form online by December 1, 2026, or mail it with a postmark no later than December 1, 2026.
  • Use the Claim Form to select credit monitoring if that is the option you want.
  • The notice says claims will be reviewed by the Settlement Administrator and/or a claims referee.

What happens if I do nothing?

Doing nothing is different from leaving the settlement. To keep the right to bring your own lawsuit about these settled claims, you must exclude yourself by the deadline.

  • You remain part of the settlement if the court approves it.
  • You will not receive settlement benefits.
  • You give up the ability to sue or continue a lawsuit against the released persons over the claims resolved by this case.

How do I exclude myself from the settlement?

Excluding yourself, sometimes called opting out, means leaving the settlement.

  • Send an individually signed written request that clearly shows you want to be excluded.
  • Mail it to the Settlement Administrator at the address in the notice. It must be postmarked by November 2, 2026.
  • If you exclude yourself, you cannot receive settlement benefits or object to the settlement, but you keep your right to sue on your own over the claims the settlement resolves.

How can I object to the settlement or speak at the hearing?

Objecting means staying in the settlement while asking the court not to approve it or to change it. It is not the same as excluding yourself.

  • An objection must be in writing and include your contact information, information showing you are a class member, your reasons, required signatures, and the other information listed in the notice.
  • The court must receive the objection by November 2, 2026. You must also mail copies to Class Counsel and Defense Counsel with a November 2, 2026 postmark.
  • You may speak at the hearing only if you properly ask for permission through an objection. You do not have to attend for a timely, proper objection to be considered.

When is the court hearing?

At this hearing, the court will decide whether to approve the proposed settlement and will consider valid objections, requested attorneys’ fees and expenses, and the proposed service award.

  • The hearing is scheduled for January 28, 2027, at 9:00 a.m.
  • It is scheduled at the Okanogan County Courthouse, 149 Third Avenue N., Okanogan, Washington 98840.
  • The court may move the hearing without additional notice.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-11-02
  • Objection deadline: 2026-11-02
  • Final approval hearing: January 28, 2027 at 9:00 a.m.
  • Hearing location: Okanogan County Courthouse, 149 Third Avenue N., Okanogan, WA 98840

Case Details

  • Case name: John Doe v. Okanogan Behavioral Healthcare
  • Case number: 24-2-00502-24
  • Court: Superior Court of the State of Washington for the County of Okanogan
  • Administrator: Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.OkanoganDataSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-09-17