Homebuyer Antitrust Settlement

This proposed class action settlement concerns allegations that the National Association of REALTORS® and certain residential real estate brokerages used anticompetitive rules affecting broker commissions. The defendants deny wrongdoing. Eligible homebuyers must submit a timely claim to seek a payment. If you stay in the settlement but do nothing, you remain bound by the settlement's release of claims but will not receive a payment.

Homebuyer Antitrust Settlement
No Proof

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members may receive Pro rata cash payment.

Payments come from the $120,334,500 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Pro rata cash payment

Who Is Included

The settlement covers certain homebuyers, not home sellers. A person must have purchased a home listed on an MLS in the United States, with a brokerage commission paid in the transaction, during the applicable Class Period. The applicable period varies by the listing state and defendant. Important exclusions apply, including valid opt-outs and people included in specified home-seller settlements.

  • Proof required: The notice requires a Claim Form but does not state what supporting documents, if any, must be submitted to support the claim. Eligibility information affects the payment calculation, including the number of properties purchased and commissions paid.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online or mail
  • Claim deadline: 2026-10-27
  • Instructions: Submit a valid Claim Form online or mail it to the Settlement Administrator at the address on the Claim Form.

Questions & Answers

Who is covered by this settlement?

The Class Period depends on where the home was listed and which defendant applies. Important exclusions also apply.

  • You may be included if you bought a home that was listed on a Multiple Listing Service (MLS) anywhere in the United States, a commission was paid to any brokerage in that transaction, and the purchase falls within the applicable Class Period.
  • The settlement is for homebuyers. Selling a home by itself does not qualify someone.

Who is excluded from the settlement?

These exclusions can affect whether a person may receive a payment.

  • People who validly ask to be excluded from this settlement.
  • People who released claims against a particular settling defendant in the Burnett, Gibson, Keel, or Hooper settlements, as to that defendant.
  • The parties' lawyers, the Special Master for Mediation, the assigned Court and staff, and immediate family members of the Court or staff.
  • People who are class members in one or more of the listed home-seller settlements.

What purchase dates apply?

The notice's two tables on physical pages 5 and 6 give the applicable start date for each state and defendant group. The home’s listing location—not necessarily where the buyer lived—is the location used in those tables.

  • For claims against the first group of brokerage defendants listed in the notice, the periods begin December 8, 2017, December 8, 2018, or December 8, 2019, depending on the state where the home was listed. All end June 25, 2026.
  • For claims against Anywhere Real Estate, Compass, eXp World Holdings, HomeServices and related entities, Hanna Holdings, United Real Estate Holdings, Douglas Elliman, and NAR, the periods begin from January 25, 2006 through January 25, 2019, depending on the listing location. All end June 25, 2026.

How much is the settlement, and how will payments be calculated?

The notice does not promise a particular payment amount.

  • The defendants have agreed to a combined $120,334,500 settlement fund if the settlement is approved.
  • Fees and costs connected with the settlement will be deducted before payments are distributed.
  • The remaining amount will be divided on a pro rata basis, meaning each approved claimant’s share will be determined under an allocation plan rather than set at a fixed amount.

What do I need to do to seek a payment?

The notice does not state what supporting documents, if any, must be sent with a claim. It does say that information about such things as the number of properties bought and commissions paid can affect the payment calculation.

  • You must be a Settlement Class Member and submit a Claim Form by October 27, 2026.
  • You may submit online or mail the form to the Settlement Administrator at the address on the Claim Form.
  • The notice says a valid and timely claim is required to receive a payment.

When would payments be sent?

A claim does not guarantee a payment or a particular payment amount.

  • The fund will be paid by defendants in installments.
  • If the settlement is approved and becomes final, class members may receive multiple payments over several years.
  • The exact payment amount and dates are not known yet.

What if my address or email changes after I file a claim?

Keeping this information current is the claimant's responsibility under the notice.

  • If your mailing or email address changes after filing a claim, notify the Settlement Administrator in writing.
  • The notice lists the administrator as Homebuyer Antitrust Litigation Settlement Administrator, PO Box 4258, Portland, OR 97208-4258.

How do I exclude myself (opt out), and what does that mean?

The notice does not allow group exclusion requests unless each individual class member signs their own opt-out.

  • To leave the settlement, mail a written exclusion request postmarked by September 17, 2026.
  • The request must include your name, address, telephone number, personal physical signature, and a statement that you want to be excluded.
  • A person who excludes themselves cannot receive a settlement payment, but keeps the right to bring or continue their own lawsuit about the claims being released.

Can I object to the settlement?

Objecting means remaining in the settlement while telling the Court what you disagree with. It is different from opting out.

  • You may object only if you are a Settlement Class Member and do not exclude yourself.
  • A written objection must be filed with the Court and sent to the Settlement Administrator, Class Counsel, and Settling Defendants' Counsel by September 17, 2026.
  • The objection has detailed content requirements, including your contact information, reasons for objecting, and your signature.

What happens if I do nothing?

In other words, doing nothing is not the same as filing a claim, and it is not the same as excluding yourself.

  • You remain in the Settlement Class.
  • If the settlement becomes final, you give up the released legal claims against the defendants and related released parties.
  • You will not receive a payment unless you submit a claim.

When is the final approval hearing, and do I have to attend?

At the hearing, the Court will consider whether the settlement is fair, reasonable, and adequate, including attorneys' fees, expenses, and service awards. The scheduled hearing does not mean final approval has occurred.

  • The Court is scheduled to hold the final fairness hearing on November 2, 2026, at 9:30 a.m.
  • It is scheduled for the Everett McKinley Dirksen U.S. Courthouse in Chicago, Illinois, or by telephone or video conference.
  • The hearing date, time, and format may change. Attending is optional.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-09-17
  • Objection deadline: 2026-09-17
  • Final approval hearing: November 2, 2026, at 9:30 a.m.
  • Hearing location: Everett McKinley Dirksen U.S. Courthouse, 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60604, or via telephone or video conference

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $120,334,500
  • Case name: Tuccori et al. v. At World Properties, LLC et al.
  • Case number: 1:24-cv-00150
  • Court: U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois
  • Administrator: Homebuyer Antitrust Litigation Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.HomebuyerSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-07