Expired listingThe listed claim deadline was 2026-03-06. This page remains available for reference; check the official settlement website for any later updates.

Michael Kors Outlet Merchandise Certificate Settlement: Who Qualified

The proposed settlement resolved claims that Michael Kors used misleading discount advertising at its outlet stores and offered a merchandise certificate for up to $30 off one future in-store purchase. The claim deadline passed on March 06, 2026; the court has not yet granted final approval.

Michael Kors Outlet Merchandise Certificate Settlement

Benefit Summary

California or Oregon KORSVIP Authorized Claimants: available benefits include Up to $30 merchandise certificate.

Nationwide Authorized Claimants: available benefits include Up to $30 merchandise certificate.

Available Awards

California or Oregon KORSVIP Authorized Claimants: See benefit details; Nationwide Authorized Claimants: See benefit details

Who Is Included

The Settlement Class includes individuals in the United States who made a Qualifying Purchase at a Michael Kors Outlet Store from May 10, 2019, through November 14, 2025. Excluded are Michael Kors’ counsel, officers, directors, and employees, and the judge presiding over the action.

  • Purchase window: May 10, 2019, to November 14, 2025
  • Proof required: The notice does not state what supporting purchase or loss documents, if any, are required with a Claim Form. California or Oregon KORSVIP Authorized Claimants described in the notice do not need to submit a Claim Form to receive the automatic certificate.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Electronically or by postal mail
  • Claim deadline: 2026-03-06
  • Instructions: Complete a valid Claim Form and submit it online or by postal mail. The notice does not state what purchase documentation, if any, must accompany the form.

Questions & Answers

What does the Merchandise Certificate provide, and what limits apply?

The settlement benefit is a Merchandise Certificate, not a cash payment. Each Settlement Class Member may use no more than one certificate.

  • One Merchandise Certificate can be used for up to $30 off a single purchase at a Michael Kors Outlet store.
  • It may be used with another discount offered to the general public.
  • It cannot be transferred, exchanged for cash, used for gift cards or gift certificates, or replaced if lost or stolen.
  • It expires 90 days after it is issued. If a purchase uses less than the certificate amount, the unused portion is lost.

If I need to make a claim, how and when do I submit it?

The notice divides people between an automatic-certificate group and people who must submit a claim. The automatic-group eligibility descriptions conflict; see the issue above.

  • If you are not a California or Oregon KORSVIP Authorized Claimant, you need to complete a Claim Form to seek a certificate.
  • You may submit the form online or mail it.
  • A mailed form must be postmarked by March 6, 2026. An online form must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time on March 6, 2026.
  • The supplied notice does not say what purchase records or other supporting documents, if any, the Claim Form requires. It says to read the form’s instructions carefully.

What happens if I do nothing?

The notice’s conflicting descriptions of the automatic group mean it does not clearly resolve whether direct email notice and a California-or-Oregon outlet purchase are required for automatic delivery.

  • The notice says California or Oregon KORSVIP Authorized Claimants who do nothing, do not object, and do not exclude themselves will receive a $30 certificate at the email address Michael Kors has for them.
  • Other Settlement Class Members must submit a valid Claim Form by the deadline to receive a certificate.
  • If you are not in the automatic group and do nothing, you will not receive a certificate, but you will still be bound by the settlement unless you exclude yourself.

When might certificates be sent?

The hearing date is not a promise that the settlement will receive final approval or that certificates will be sent on that date.

  • Certificates will be sent no earlier than April 1, 2026, only if the court approves the settlement.
  • Appeals could delay delivery, possibly by more than a year.
  • The court hearing on whether to approve the settlement is scheduled for March 27, 2026, at 1:30 p.m. Pacific Time.

How do I exclude myself, and what does that change?

Excluding yourself means leaving the settlement. It is different from objecting: a person who excludes themselves cannot object to a settlement that no longer affects them.

  • You must mail a signed letter or postcard to the Claims Administrator, postmarked by March 6, 2026.
  • It must include the case name and number, your full name, address, telephone number, email address, and a statement that you do not want to participate.
  • If you exclude yourself, you will not receive a certificate. You will not be bound by the settlement judgment and may pursue a timely individual claim based on the conduct at issue.

How can I object or speak at the court hearing?

Objecting asks the court not to approve all or part of the settlement. It does not remove you from the settlement.

  • You must file a written objection with the court and send copies to the Claims Administrator, Class Counsel, and Michael Kors’ counsel by March 6, 2026.
  • The objection must include identifying and contact information, your reasons, facts supporting that you are a Settlement Class Member, your wet signature and date, and the required declaration under penalty of perjury.
  • To speak at the hearing, you must submit a timely objection and a timely, valid Notice of Intention to Appear. You do not have to attend the hearing just because you object.

Who is generally included, and what is the case about?

The notice uses the capitalized term “Qualifying Purchase,” but the supplied text does not define that term.

  • The settlement class generally covers people in the United States who made a Qualifying Purchase at a Michael Kors Outlet store from May 10, 2019, through November 14, 2025.
  • Michael Kors’ counsel, officers, directors, and employees are excluded, as is the judge presiding over the case.
  • The notice says the lawsuit alleges misleading advertising involving purportedly improper outlet-store discounts. Michael Kors denies wrongdoing, and no court has decided that it is liable.

Does the notice state a total settlement fund or fees paid by class members?

The notice says Settlement Class Members will not be required to pay attorneys’ fees or costs.

  • Michael Kors agreed to pay attorneys’ fees, costs, and class administration costs up to $1,985,000, subject to court approval.
  • The notice does not state a total settlement fund for certificates or a cash amount available to class members.
  • The three Named Plaintiffs will each request a service award of up to $5,000, but the court will decide the amount, if any, to award.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-03-06
  • Objection deadline: 2026-03-06
  • Final approval hearing: March 27, 2026, at 1:30 P.M. Pacific Time
  • Hearing location: Courtroom N-29, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego, 325 S. Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081

Case Details

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-07