Holt Group Data Incident Settlement: Who Can Claim

The proposed settlement covers people whose private information was exposed in the December 2024 Holt Group data incident. Members can claim two years of credit monitoring, documented losses up to $5,000, or a flat $50 needing no proof. Claims are due December 1, 2026 and approval is still pending.

Holt Group Data Breach Claim Settlement
No-Proof OptionMonitoring New

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members: choose one: 2 years credit monitoring plus Up to $5,000 documented losses or 2 years credit monitoring plus Up to $80 for time spent or 2 years credit monitoring plus One-time $50 alternate cash.

The notice does not state a total settlement fund or describe deductions from a common fund.

Available Awards

Up to $5,000 documented losses OR Up to $80 for time spent OR One-time $50 alternate cash

Who Is Included

U.S. residents whose Private Information was potentially accessed or acquired in the December 26–27, 2024 Data Incident and who received a letter notifying them of the incident, subject to the listed exclusions.

  • Proof required: Documented-loss claims require reasonable records such as receipts; a personal certification, declaration, or affidavit alone is insufficient. The notice does not state a document requirement for the time-spent option. The $50 alternative cash payment requires no proof or explanation.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or mail
  • Claim deadline: 2026-12-01
  • Instructions: Submit a completed claim form online, or download a printable form from the settlement website and mail it to the Settlement Administrator. A mailed claim form must be signed and include supporting documentation when documentation is required for the benefit claimed.

Questions & Answers

Who is included in the settlement?

The settlement covers a defined group of people, not everyone affected by a data breach generally.

  • You must live in the United States, have had Private Information potentially accessed or acquired in the December 26–27, 2024 Data Incident, and have been sent a Data Incident notification letter.
  • Certain Holt Group-related entities and personnel, government entities, the assigned judge and court staff, people who validly opt out, and people who carried out the incident are excluded.

What benefits can I claim?

You must submit a valid, timely Claim Form to receive any benefit. The $50 alternate cash payment is offered instead of Cash Payment A or Cash Payment B.

  • Two years of three-bureau credit monitoring, with $1 million in fraud protection and access to a fraud-resolution agent.
  • Up to $5,000 for qualifying documented out-of-pocket losses.
  • Up to $80 for up to four hours spent responding to the Data Incident, paid at $20 per hour.
  • A one-time $50 alternate cash payment.

What do I need for reimbursement of documented losses?

Cash Payment A is reimbursement for actual qualifying losses, up to $5,000. It is not a flat payment.

  • The loss must have happened between December 26, 2024, and December 1, 2026.
  • Examples include identity-theft or fraud losses, certain credit-related fees, ID replacement costs, and postage used to contact banks.
  • You need reasonable records, such as receipts, showing what you spent or lost and tying the expense to the Data Incident.
  • A personal statement, declaration, or affidavit by itself is not enough.
  • You cannot claim an expense already reimbursed by someone else.

What does the time-spent payment cover?

The notice does not identify specific supporting documents for the time-spent payment. It does require that the time be related to responding to the Data Incident.

  • Eligible time is time spent responding to the Data Incident.
  • Examples include changing passwords, looking into suspicious account activity, and researching the incident.
  • The payment is limited to four hours at $20 per hour, or $80 total.

Can I choose the $50 payment without receipts?

This is the notice's no-document cash option.

  • It is a one-time $50 payment.
  • You do not need to provide proof or an explanation for this option.
  • Choosing it means choosing it instead of Cash Payment A or Cash Payment B.

How do I submit a claim, and what is the deadline?

The notice says a valid and timely Claim Form is the only way to receive settlement benefits.

  • Submit online through the settlement website, or download a printable Claim Form and mail it to the Settlement Administrator.
  • Online claims must be submitted by December 1, 2026.
  • Mailed claims must be completed, signed, include supporting documentation when required, and be postmarked by December 1, 2026.

When will benefits be issued?

A claim does not guarantee immediate payment. Timing depends on court approval and whether appeals occur.

  • The Court is scheduled to hold the Final Approval Hearing on December 16, 2026.
  • Benefits will be distributed only if the Court grants final approval and after any appeals are resolved.
  • The notice does not give a specific payment date.

What happens if I opt out?

Opting out means leaving the settlement. You will not receive settlement benefits, but you keep any rights you may have to bring your own case about the legal issues covered here.

  • Send a written request for exclusion to the Settlement Administrator.
  • Include the case name and number, your name, mailing address, telephone number, email address, personal signature, and a clear statement that you want to opt out.
  • Your request must be postmarked by November 16, 2026.

How can I object to the settlement?

An objection tells the Court why you think it should not approve some or all of the settlement. It does not remove you from the settlement, and you may still file a claim.

  • You may object only if you stay in the settlement; a person who opts out cannot object.
  • File a complete written objection with the Clerk of Court by November 16, 2026.
  • Also mail a copy to the Settlement Administrator, Class Counsel, and Defendant's Counsel.
  • The notice lists detailed information that an objection must include, including your reasons, contact information, and your signature.

What happens if I do nothing?

Doing nothing is different from opting out: you do not get a payment either way, but doing nothing leaves you bound by the settlement if it receives final approval.

  • You will not receive settlement benefits or payments.
  • Unless you opt out, you remain in the settlement and give up the rights described in the notice's release section, including the right to bring or remain part of another lawsuit against Holt Group or related parties over the released claims.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-11-16
  • Objection deadline: 2026-11-16
  • Final approval hearing: December 16, 2026 at 8:30AM Central Time
  • Hearing location: Via video conference

Case Details

  • Case name: Damon Quinn and Scott Moran v. B.D. Holt Co.
  • Case number: 2025CI06321
  • Court: 37th Judicial District Court for Bexar County, Texas
  • Administrator: Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.HoltGroupDataSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-02