In re Harvard Morgue Cases: $53 Million Settlement

The proposed $53 million settlement covers spouses, children, grandchildren, parents and siblings of individuals who donated their bodies to the Harvard Anatomical Gift Program, along with the people named in the donors' instruments of anatomical gift. Claim forms must be submitted by mail or through the settlement portal by December 9, 2026; the fairness hearing is the same day, and the court has not yet given final approval.

Harvard Morgue Cases Settlement
No Proof

Benefit Summary

Primary Settlement Class: available benefits include Allocated cash payment, Harvard AGP commitments.

Pre-2018 Settlement Class: available benefits include Allocated cash payment, Harvard AGP commitments.

Payments come from the $53,000,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Primary Settlement Class: Allocated cash payment; Pre-2018 Settlement Class: Allocated cash payment

Who Is Included

The settlement has two classes based on the date a Donor’s remains left the Harvard Morgue for final disposition and the claimant’s relationship to the Donor. The notice lists spouses or registered domestic partners, children, parents, siblings, named designees, certain correspondence recipients, certain grandchildren, and named Plaintiffs, subject to exclusions.

  • Proof required: A completed, signed Claim Form is required. The notice does not state whether supporting documents for eligibility or monetary losses must be provided.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Mail or online settlement portal
  • Claim deadline: 2026-12-09
  • Instructions: Complete and sign a Claim Form, then submit it by mail or through the settlement website’s portal. The form can be downloaded from the website.

Questions & Answers

How do the two settlement classes differ?

The settlement has two classes based on when the donor’s remains left the Harvard Morgue for final disposition. Your relationship to the donor also matters.

  • The Primary Settlement Class covers donors whose Removal Receipt Date was from January 1, 2018, through March 31, 2023.
  • The Pre-2018 Settlement Class covers donors whose Removal Receipt Date was from January 1, 2003, through December 31, 2017.
  • A Removal Receipt Date is the date the donor’s body left the Harvard Morgue to be cremated or buried.
  • Grandchildren are included only for a donor in the Primary Settlement Class.

Which relationships or other connections to a donor can qualify?

You must fit one of the listed relationship or notice categories and meet the date requirement for one of the two classes. Certain people and entities are excluded, including the defendants, people or entities released by the settlement, Cedric Lodge, Denise Lodge, judges who worked on the case, and those judges’ immediate family members.

  • A spouse or registered domestic partner, child, parent, or sibling of a donor.
  • A person the donor named as a designee in the Instrument of Anatomical Gift.
  • A person to whom Harvard addressed correspondence about the actions on or about June 14, 2023 and/or December 7, 2023.
  • A grandchild, but only if the donor qualifies for the Primary Settlement Class.
  • A named plaintiff in one of the consolidated actions.

What do I need to do to ask for a cash payment?

A claim is required to seek a cash payment, including if you also object to the settlement. The notice requires a completed, signed form, but it does not say whether you must send supporting documents for your relationship to the donor or any other claim information.

  • Complete and sign a Claim Form.
  • Send it by mail or submit it through the settlement website’s portal.
  • Submit it by December 9, 2026.

How will cash payments be calculated?

The money for each class is handled separately. Each class’s net fund will first be divided equally among donors connected with timely, valid claims. The donor-level amount is then divided among the people with timely, valid claims connected to that donor based on their relationship to the donor. The notice refers readers to the Plan of Allocation for the detailed rules and examples.

  • The Primary Settlement Class fund is $52.5 million.
  • The Pre-2018 Settlement Class fund is $500,000.
  • Fees, expenses, and settlement-administration expenses may be deducted before money is allocated and distributed.
  • There is no fixed payment amount in this notice.

When might payments be sent?

The notice gives an expected timeframe, not a promised payment date. Court approval and the settlement becoming effective must happen first.

  • If the court approves the settlement and there are no delays, payments are expected within 60 days after the settlement becomes effective.
  • The hearing is scheduled for December 9, 2026, but the court might not approve the settlement that day.
  • The notice says payment can be delayed for other reasons as well.

What happens if I do nothing?

The notice does not list an option to exclude yourself from the settlement. It says that doing nothing means no payment, but the settlement can still affect your right to sue over the issues involved if it receives final approval.

  • You will not receive a payment.
  • You will still be bound by the settlement, including the release of certain claims against the settling defendants.

How can I object to the settlement?

Objecting is how a class member can tell the court why they disagree with the proposed settlement. Objecting does not request a cash payment; you must still submit a claim form if you want payment.

  • Your written objection must be received by the court or postmarked by November 16, 2026.
  • You must file it with the court and send copies to Class Counsel.
  • The notice lists required information, including your contact information, the associated donor’s name, your signature, specific reasons for objecting, and any supporting documents for the objection.

Does the settlement include anything besides cash payments?

The notice also lists non-cash commitments by Harvard. It does not give a date, access process, or other participation details for the webinar, and it does not state whether a claim form is required for it.

  • A live webinar statement for claimant families from the Dean for Medical Education of Harvard Medical School.
  • A statement summarizing changes to Harvard Anatomical Gift Program oversight, security, policies, and training.
  • An AGP Donors Scholarship to help a medical student with medical-school costs.

Other Important Dates

  • Objection deadline: 2026-11-16
  • Final approval hearing: December 9, 2026, 2:00 p.m. EST
  • Hearing location: Courtroom 1017 at Suffolk Superior Court, Three Pemberton Square, Boston, MA 02108

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $53,000,000
  • Case name: MacTaggart v. President and Fellows of Harvard College (In re Harvard Morgue Cases)
  • Case number: 2384CV01389-BLS2
  • Court: Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Suffolk County Superior Court – Business Litigation Session
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.HarvardMorgueSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-09