Jenkins v. DaVita: Ransomware Settlement Claims and Deadlines

The proposed $10,000,000 settlement covers U.S. persons whose personal information was potentially accessed without authorization in the DaVita ransomware attack. Class members can claim a pro rata cash payment currently estimated at $50, three years of one-bureau credit monitoring with identity theft restoration, or up to $2,500 for documented out-of-pocket losses - and may claim any or all of the three, though the loss route needs receipts that are not self-prepared. Claims are due January 19, 2027 and the final approval hearing is February 18, 2027; the court has not yet given final approval.

DaVita Ransomware Attack Settlement
No-Proof OptionMonitoring New

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members: available benefits include Estimated $50 Pro Rata Cash Payment, 3 Years of Credit Monitoring, Up to $2,500 Documented Losses.

Payments come from the $10,000,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Estimated $50 Pro Rata Cash Payment + Up to $2,500 Documented Losses

Who Is Included

The Settlement covers U.S. persons whose Personal Information was potentially accessed without authorization in the April 2025 ransomware attack. It excludes DaVita and related entities and persons, judicial officers and their immediate families and staff, and people who timely and validly opt out.

  • Proof required: Supporting documentation is required for reimbursement of documented out-of-pocket losses. The notice requires a claim form for all benefits but does not state whether additional supporting documents are required for the estimated cash payment or credit-monitoring option.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Online submission or mail
  • Claim deadline: 2027-01-19
  • Instructions: Submit a timely, valid Claim Form online or mail it to the Settlement Administrator. A claim is required for settlement benefits.

Questions & Answers

Who is included in this settlement?

Being included does not by itself provide benefits. A class member must submit a timely and valid Claim Form to receive them.

  • The settlement covers U.S. persons whose personal information was potentially accessed without authorization in DaVita’s April 2025 ransomware attack.
  • It does not cover DaVita and specified related people or entities, the judge and certain court personnel and family members, or people who make a timely, valid request to be excluded.

What benefits can I claim, and can I claim more than one?

You may claim any or all of these benefits. The documented-loss benefit has extra conditions and documentation requirements.

  • An estimated $50 cash payment. The final amount can be higher or lower.
  • Three years of one-bureau credit monitoring, dark-web monitoring, identity-theft insurance of up to $1 million, and identity-recovery services.
  • Reimbursement of up to $2,500 for qualifying documented out-of-pocket losses.

What do I need to show to receive reimbursement for an out-of-pocket loss?

Receipts or other records not prepared by you may be acceptable. A handwritten receipt or another self-prepared document alone is not enough. The Settlement Administrator decides whether a claimed loss is valid and fairly traceable to the attack.

  • The loss must be a real, unreimbursed monetary loss supported by documentation.
  • It must be fairly traceable to the ransomware attack and have occurred from April 11, 2025, through January 19, 2027.
  • You must have made reasonable efforts to prevent the loss or obtain reimbursement, including disputing unauthorized transactions and using available credit-monitoring or identity-theft insurance.
  • You must provide a description of the loss, explain its connection to the attack, and make the required statement under penalty of perjury.

How do I make a claim, and what is the deadline?

The notice requires a timely, valid Claim Form for every settlement benefit. It specifically lists supporting records and an attestation for documented-loss reimbursement. It does not state in this notice whether additional documents are needed for the cash-payment or credit-monitoring options.

  • Submit a Claim Form online by January 19, 2027.
  • Or mail a Claim Form to the Settlement Administrator; it must be postmarked by January 19, 2027.

Why might my cash payment or loss reimbursement be less than the stated amount?

The notice describes a separate Supplemental Payment Amount for documented-loss claims and the related supplemental attorneys’ fee award. That amount is capped at $5 million and is separate from the $10 million Settlement Fund.

  • The cash payment is an estimate, not a guaranteed amount.
  • It is calculated from money remaining in the $10 million Settlement Fund after listed costs, fees, service awards, and claimed credit-monitoring costs, divided among eligible cash-payment claims.
  • Loss reimbursement can also be reduced proportionally if valid loss claims plus a related supplemental attorneys’ fee award exceed $5 million.

What happens if I exclude myself from the settlement?

Excluding yourself means you cannot receive settlement benefits, but you will not be bound by this settlement or its judgment. If you stay in the class and do not exclude yourself, you give up the right to bring or continue claims covered by the settlement’s release.

  • To exclude yourself, mail an individual written Request for Exclusion by December 21, 2026.
  • The request must include the case name and number, your full name, address, telephone number, original physical signature, and a statement that you want to be excluded.
  • You cannot exclude yourself online, by telephone, or by email.

Can I object to the settlement instead of excluding myself?

The Final Approval Hearing is scheduled for February 18, 2027, at 10:00 a.m. The Court may change the hearing date, time, format, or location.

  • You may object only if you remain in the Settlement Class; someone who excludes themselves cannot object.
  • A written objection must be filed with the Court by December 21, 2026.
  • The objection must include the information and materials listed in the notice, including your reasons, any supporting documents you want to submit, and your original signature.

When will benefits be provided?

The Court has not decided that DaVita did anything wrong. DaVita denies the claims, and the settlement is an agreement to resolve the case without a trial.

  • Benefits are provided only after the Court approves the settlement and it becomes final.
  • The notice does not give a specific payment or service-start date.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-12-21
  • Objection deadline: 2026-12-21
  • Final approval hearing: February 18, 2027, at 10:00 a.m.
  • Hearing location: Courtroom A901, Alfred A. Arraj Courthouse, 901 19th Street, Denver, CO 80294-3589

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $10,000,000
  • Case name: Jenkins v. DaVita Inc.
  • Case number: 1:25-cv-01358
  • Court: United States District Court for the District of Colorado
  • Administrator: DaVita Ransomware Settlement Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://DVACyberattackSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-20