San Diego Water Rate Settlement: Who Gets a Refund and How

The proposed $40 million settlement covers single-family residential water customers of the City of San Diego between August 14, 2014 and December 1, 2023 who were charged unconstitutional rates. Refunds are automatic and no claim form is required; the court has not yet approved the settlement.

San Diego Water Rate Settlement
Automatic

Benefit Summary

Single-family residential water customers: Single-family residential customers of the City of San Diego at any time from August 14, 2014 through December 1, 2023, but only customers identified as overcharged under the Court-adopted refund methodology receive a refund. Class members not identified as overcharged do not receive a refund.

Class members whom the Court-approved refund calculation identifies as having been overcharged will receive a refund. The amount depends on the customer’s share of the net settlement fund. No further action is required, although the customer may be asked to validate contact information and choose a payment method. Payments will be made only if the Court approves the settlement.

The fund will cover court-approved costs and fees, including settlement administration costs expected to be no more than $199,000, subject to court approval. Requested attorneys’ fees, expenses, and class-representative payments would also come from the fund if approved. Any money remaining after the claims process will be donated to a Court-approved organization.

Available Awards

Share of net fund

Who Is Included

The settlement class includes people who were single-family residential customers of the City of San Diego at any time between August 14, 2014 and December 1, 2023. Only customers found to have been overcharged under the Court-adopted methodology receive a refund.

  • Proof required: The notice does not state that documents proving monetary losses are required. Customers who are due a refund may be asked to validate their contact information and select a payment method.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: No claim submission required; optional online confirmation of contact information and payment preference.
  • Instructions: No claim submission is required for customers entitled to a refund. The notice allows optional contact-detail confirmation and payment preferences. The official website was under construction when checked September 9, 2026; call 1-888-903-0334 or email [email protected] for assistance.

Questions & Answers

How will my refund be determined?

  • Being in the class does not by itself mean a refund is due. The Court-approved calculation compares what each customer paid with what that customer would have paid without the unlawful rates.
  • Only customers the calculation identifies as overcharged will receive money. The notice does not give individual dollar amounts; each qualifying customer’s refund depends on that customer’s share of the net settlement fund.

Do I need to submit a claim or provide proof to get paid?

  • No claim form or other additional step is required to receive a refund if the calculation identifies you as overcharged.
  • You may confirm your current contact details and select paper check or an electronic payment method. The notice also says qualifying customers may be asked to validate their contact information.
  • The notice does not say that customers must provide bills, proof of loss, or other supporting documents.

What may be taken from the settlement fund before refunds are paid?

  • The City will place $40 million into the settlement fund.
  • Court-approved settlement administration costs, lawyers’ fees and expenses, and any approved payments to the class representatives come out of that fund before qualifying customers share the net fund.
  • Administration is expected to cost no more than $199,000, subject to court approval. The lawyers plan to request up to $13,333,333.33 in fees, up to $500,000 in expense reimbursement, and $7,500 for each class representative; none of those requests is guaranteed.

What happens if money is left after the claims process?

  • Any money remaining after the claims process is complete will be donated to an organization approved by the Court.
  • The notice says the Court has approved the Sierra Club, California Water Committee, including the San Diego chapter, as the recipient.

What changes if I opt out, object, or do nothing?

  • If you stay in the settlement and do nothing, you remain bound by its release. This generally means you cannot bring, continue, or join another lawsuit against the City about the issues in this case.
  • Leaving the settlement (opting out) means you will not receive a settlement payment and cannot object, but you will not be bound by the settlement and may be able to bring your own case.
  • You may object and remain in the class. That preserves your ability to receive a settlement payment if you otherwise qualify.

What does the notice require for opting out?

The notice does not specify whether the September 28 deadline means receipt or postmark, or whether email is an accepted opt-out method. Confirm delivery requirements with the administrator at 1-888-903-0334 or [email protected] before sending your request.

  • To opt out, complete the opt-out form available through the settlement website and send it to the Settlement Administrator by September 28, 2026.
  • The form must include your name, address, telephone number, and signature.
  • The notice lists the Settlement Administrator’s mailing address as PO Box 19504, Irvine, CA 92623.

What must a written objection include?

This is a summary, not the complete filing checklist. Notice pages 11–12 also address the property owner, the scope of the objection, attorney involvement and prior objections. Follow those pages for all requirements. The notice refers to filing with the Court but displays both Court and administrator mailing addresses without clearly saying whether both need a copy; ask the administrator to clarify delivery.

  • An objection must be received by September 28, 2026.
  • It must identify the case, give the objector’s contact and water-service information, explain the reasons for the objection, and be signed.
  • It also must disclose lawyers who helped with the objection and state whether the objector or lawyer plans to appear at the final approval hearing.

When is the approval hearing, and when will refunds be sent?

  • The Court will hold a hearing at 9:00 a.m. on December 11, 2026, to decide whether to approve the proposed settlement.
  • Payments can be made only if the Court approves the settlement. The notice does not provide a payment date.
  • Attendance is not required. You may attend at your own expense and may ask permission to speak. The hearing date may change without another notice to class members.

Can I check my refund or update my details online now?

The notice directs customers to https://www.sdwatersettlement.com/ to check an estimated refund and choose a payment method. When checked on September 9, 2026, that official site displayed an under-construction message, so those functions could not be verified. Contact CPT Group at 1-888-903-0334 or [email protected] for help. The notice says a claim is not required; the website outage does not establish a new deadline or change that rule.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-09-28
  • Objection deadline: 2026-09-28
  • Final approval hearing: 9:00 a.m. on December 11, 2026
  • Hearing location: San Diego Superior Court, Hall of Justice, Fourth Floor, Department C-67, 330 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $40,000,000.00
  • Case name: Patz v. City of San Diego
  • Case number: 37-2015-00023413-CU-MC-CTL
  • Court: San Diego Superior Court
  • Administrator: CPT Group
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.SDWaterSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-01