American Vision Partners Data Breach Settlement
This proposed settlement concerns a 2023 cyberattack involving American Vision Partners’ computer network and personal information. The Court has not decided that the Defendant did anything wrong. The Court must approve the settlement before benefits can be distributed, and any appeals must be resolved first.

Benefit Summary
Damages Settlement Class Members: choose one: Pro rata cash payment or Up to $3,000 documented losses.
Injunctive Relief Class Members: available benefits include Cybersecurity measures.
Payments come from the $1,750,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.
Available Awards
Damages Settlement Class Members: Pro rata cash payment OR Up to $3,000 documented losses; Injunctive Relief Class Members: See benefit details
Who Is Included
The settlement includes a Damages Settlement Class of approximately 258,070 U.S. residents whose Social Security numbers and other personal information were compromised in the Data Breach, and an Injunctive Relief Class of people whose personal information is collected or maintained by Defendant. Both classes exclude the Defendant and its representatives, the presiding judicial officer and that officer’s immediate family and staff, and people who timely and validly opt out.
- Proof required: Out-of-pocket expense claims require documentation and an attestation that the loss is fairly traceable to the Data Breach. Receipts or other documents not self-prepared by the claimant may support the claim; handwritten receipts alone are insufficient. The notice also says claimants must provide required documentation, but does not specify supporting-document requirements for a pro rata cash claim.
Claim and Payment Information
- Claim method: Online or mail
- Claim deadline: 2026-11-12
- Instructions: Complete the Claim Form, follow its instructions, and submit it online or mail it to the Settlement Administrator. Include the required documentation for the benefit you select. Electronic or ACH payment requires filing online.
Questions & Answers
What expenses may be covered by an out-of-pocket claim?
The notice gives examples rather than a complete list of covered out-of-pocket expenses. A claimant seeking this option must show the loss is connected to the breach.
- Out-of-pocket claims can include unreimbursed fraud or identity-theft losses, certain professional fees, credit-freeze costs, qualifying credit-monitoring costs incurred from November 2023 through claim submission, and certain small expenses such as postage, copying, mileage, and qualifying phone or data charges.
- The expense must be reasonably and fairly traceable to the data breach. The $3,000 figure is a cap per claimant, not a promised payment amount.
What records are needed for an out-of-pocket expense claim?
The notice specifically requires documentation for out-of-pocket claims. It does not clearly say whether supporting documents are required for the separate pro rata cash-payment option; follow the Claim Form instructions for that option.
- Submit supporting records and an attestation with an out-of-pocket claim.
- Receipts or other records prepared by someone other than the claimant may support the claim.
- A handwritten receipt or another self-prepared document cannot, by itself, establish reimbursement, although it may help explain other records.
- Do not claim an expense that another source has already reimbursed, including the credit-monitoring and identity-theft product mentioned in the notice.
How can I request electronic payment, and when could payments be sent?
- Complete and submit a Claim Form online or by mail by November 12, 2026.
- To request electronic or ACH payment for a valid claim, submit the Claim Form online. The notice does not offer that option for mailed claims.
- The notice says payment cannot be distributed unless the Court approves the settlement and any appeals are finished. It does not provide a payment date.
What is the cybersecurity relief, and does it pay people directly?
This relief is a commitment to improve the defendants’ cybersecurity practices. It is not a cash payment to individual Injunctive Relief Class members.
- The notice estimates the cybersecurity commitments at about $2,787,630.
- The defendants, not the $1.75 million damages fund, will bear the implementation and maintenance costs.
- The listed measures include cybersecurity leadership and training, outside security testing and services, stronger data controls, email and disaster-recovery improvements, risk assessments, and updated security policies.
- The notice says the measures will remain in place for a minimum period, but it does not state that period in this notice; it says the long-form settlement agreement will address it.
How could attorneys’ fees and awards for the named plaintiffs be handled?
The notice does not say now what the Court will approve. It does say these court-approved amounts would come from the Settlement Fund.
- Class Counsel may ask the Court for attorneys’ fees equal to 33.33% of the settlement’s value, including the stated value of the cybersecurity relief, plus reasonable litigation costs.
- They may also seek service awards of up to $2,500 for each named Plaintiff.
- Any fees, costs, and service awards must be approved by the Court and are to be paid from the Settlement Fund. The Court may award less than requested.
What happens if I do nothing instead of opting out?
Opting out means leaving the settlement. A person who opts out cannot receive settlement benefits, but this is the option that preserves the ability to pursue a separate lawsuit about the breach.
- If the settlement becomes final and a person does not opt out, they release claims against the defendant and related entities that were or could have been brought about the data breach.
- Doing nothing does not produce a damages benefit, but it does not preserve the right to bring or remain in a lawsuit over released data-breach claims.
- A person who wants to leave the settlement must mail an individually signed written opt-out request that clearly says they want to be excluded. It must be postmarked by October 13, 2026.
Other Important Dates
- Exclusion deadline: 2026-10-13
- Objection deadline: 2026-10-13
- Final approval hearing: December 10, 2026 at 10:00 a.m. MT
- Hearing location: Sandra Day O’Connor U.S. Courthouse, Courtroom 605, 401 W. Washington St., Phoenix, AZ 85003-2161
Case Details
- Total settlement fund: $1,750,000
- Case name: Hulewat et al. v. Medical Management Resource Group LLC d/b/a American Vision Partners, et al.
- Case number: 2:24-cv-00377-DJH
- Court: United States District Court for the District of Arizona
- Administrator: Kroll Settlement Administration LLC
- Official Settlement Website: https://www.AmericanVisionSettlement.com
Sources
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits