Expired listingThe listed claim deadline was 2026-06-15. This page remains available for reference; check the official settlement website for any later updates.

SouthState Bank Data Incident Settlement: Cash and Credit Monitoring

A proposed $1,500,000 SouthState Bank settlement covers US residents notified their personal information was affected in the February 7, 2024 data incident. It offered up to $3,500 for documented losses or a pro rata cash payment, plus credit monitoring. Claims closed June 15, 2026; the court has not yet approved it.

SouthState Bank Data Incident Settlement

Benefit Summary

Eligible class members may receive One Year Credit Monitoring plus Up to $3,500 Documented Losses plus Pro Rata Cash Payment.

Payments come from the $1,500,000 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Up to $3,500 Documented Losses + Pro Rata Cash Payment

Who Is Included

Living U.S. residents who were sent notice that their Private Information may have been impacted in the Data Incident on or around February 7, 2024, subject to the stated exclusions.

  • Proof required: For documented-loss reimbursement, provide reasonable third-party documentation, such as credit card or bank statements, invoices, telephone records, or receipts. A personal certification, declaration, or affidavit alone is not proper loss documentation, though it may clarify supporting records. The notice does not state that loss documentation is required for a pro rata cash claim.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim method: Submit online or mail a Claim Form to the Settlement Administrator.
  • Claim deadline: 2026-06-15
  • Instructions: Complete a Claim Form. For documented-loss reimbursement, include reasonable third-party records supporting the loss; personal certifications, declarations, or affidavits alone are not proper documentation.

Questions & Answers

Who is covered by the settlement?

The notice does not say that every SouthState customer is included. Receiving the incident notice is part of the class definition.

  • You must be a living person who lives in the United States and was sent a notice saying your Private Information may have been affected by the February 2024 Data Incident.
  • You are not included if you are a SouthState Bank director, officer, or agent; a government entity; the assigned judge, that judge’s immediate family, or court staff; or if you timely opt out.

What benefits are available, and can I request more than one?

If you stay in the settlement, the credit-monitoring benefit is available without filing a claim form. You may also submit one claim form for either cash benefit or for both cash benefits.

  • One year of credit monitoring through one credit bureau, with $1 million in identity-theft insurance.
  • Up to $3,500 for certain documented, unreimbursed fraud or identity-theft losses.
  • A proportional cash payment whose amount has not been set.

What losses may qualify for reimbursement of up to $3,500?

The $3,500 amount is a maximum, not a guaranteed payment. You cannot receive reimbursement again for an expense already paid by another source, including compensation connected to a credit-monitoring or identity-theft-protection product.

  • The loss must be an actual monetary loss that has not been reimbursed.
  • It must be related to fraud or identity theft, more likely than not caused by this Data Incident, and incurred after February 7, 2024.
  • Examples include fraud-related bank fees, credit-freeze costs, professional fees for addressing identity fraud, replacement identification costs, certain incidental expenses, and unreimbursed fraudulent charges or losses directly traceable to misuse of information from the incident.

What proof is needed for a documented-loss claim?

These documentation requirements apply to the documented-loss benefit. For the proportional cash benefit, the notice requires a valid claim form selecting that benefit but does not state a separate documentation requirement.

  • Include reasonable records created by a third party, such as bank or credit-card statements, invoices, telephone records, or receipts.
  • Your own certification, declaration, or affidavit cannot by itself prove the loss, although it may help explain other records.
  • If documentation is missing, or the administrator rejects the claim and it is not cured after a reasonable time, the claim will be rejected.

How is the proportional cash payment calculated?

As a result, the notice does not give a fixed dollar amount for the proportional cash payment.

  • Documented-loss claims are paid first from the $1.5 million Cash Fund.
  • The money left in that fund is then used for valid proportional cash claims.
  • The proportional payment can change depending on the number of valid claims.

How and when do I request cash benefits?

A claim form is required for either cash payment. The notice gives no cash-payment benefit to someone who does nothing.

  • Submit a claim online by 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on June 15, 2026.
  • Or mail it to the Settlement Administrator; it must be postmarked by June 15, 2026.
  • Select the cash benefit or benefits you are requesting. Include the required third-party records if requesting documented losses.

Do I need to file a claim to get credit monitoring?

The benefit is automatic in the sense that eligible members who do not opt out are entitled to it, but the notice says you will need to activate it with your code. Enrollment is available only after final approval.

  • You do not need to submit a claim form for credit monitoring if you remain in the settlement.
  • The service is for one year and includes $1 million of identity-theft insurance.
  • After final approval, use the unique code sent by email or postcard to activate the service.

What does opting out mean, and what must an opt-out request include?

Opting out means leaving the settlement. You will receive no settlement benefits, but you keep the right to separately sue SouthState Bank about the legal issues in this case.

  • Mail a signed written request for exclusion to the Settlement Administrator, postmarked no later than May 15, 2026.
  • Include the case name and number; your name, address, telephone number, and email address if any; a statement that you want to be excluded; and your personal signature.

How do I object to the settlement?

The notice has detailed content requirements for an objection, including your contact information, the factual and legal reasons for the objection, information about certain prior objections, information about lawyers representing you, hearing and witness information, and your own signature. A lawyer’s signature alone is not enough.

  • You may object only if you stay in the settlement; a person who opts out cannot object.
  • An objection must be filed with or mailed to the court by May 15, 2026.
  • You must also mail copies to class counsel, SouthState Bank’s counsel, and the Settlement Administrator by that date.

When could benefits be available, and do I need to attend the court hearing?

No payment date is guaranteed. Cash payments and credit-monitoring enrollment can begin only after final approval and after any appeals have been resolved.

  • The court hearing is scheduled for June 22, 2026, at 10:15 AM Eastern Time.
  • You do not have to attend. If you filed a timely written objection that meets the stated requirements, the court will consider it whether or not you attend.
  • The hearing date or time may change.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-05-15
  • Objection deadline: 2026-05-15
  • Final approval hearing: June 22, 2026 10:15 AM ET
  • Hearing location: Circuit Court of the Tenth Judicial Circuit, Polk County, Florida, Polk County Courthouse, 255 N. Broadway Ave., Bartow, FL 33830

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $1,500,000
  • Case name: Gregory Maricle, et al. v. SouthState Bank, N.A.
  • Case number: CACE-2024CA-002530
  • Court: Circuit Court of the Tenth Judicial Circuit in and for Polk County, Florida
  • Administrator: Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.SouthStateBankDataSettlement.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-07