Expired listingThe listed claim deadline was 2026-05-15. This page remains available for reference; check the official settlement website for any later updates.

LexisNexis Deceased Report Settlement: Who Could Claim a Payment

The proposed $13,500,000 settlement covers people whom LexisNexis Risk Solutions FL reported as deceased. Product Members who filed a claim received the same payment as every other qualifying member: no less than $150, possibly $1,000 or more. Claims closed May 15, 2026, and the court has not yet approved it.

Scroggins v. LexisNexis Risk Solutions FL Inc. Settlement

Benefit Summary

Contact Members: Estimated $150 or more cash.

Product Members: Estimated $150 or more cash.

Payments come from the $13,500,000.00 settlement fund and may change after approved deductions.

Available Awards

Contact Members: Estimated $150 or more cash; Product Members: Estimated $150 or more cash

Who Is Included

The settlement has Contact Member and Product Member groups. This notice identifies its recipient as a Product Member. Product Members must meet all listed transaction, deceased-notation, credit-reporting-agency-source, and living-person criteria.

  • Proof required: For Product Members, the Claim Form requires a truthful affirmation or sworn statement that the claimant is the person identified in the notice and is alive. The notice does not state that documents proving monetary losses are required. It does not specify supporting-proof requirements for Contact Members.

Claim and Payment Information

  • Claim deadline: 2026-05-15
  • Instructions: Product Members must file a Claim Form. The notice says the claim deadline may change and directs readers to the settlement website for updates.

Questions & Answers

Who is included in the settlement?

What qualifies someone for either group is based on LexisNexis FL’s records and the detailed definitions in the notice.

  • Contact Members are people who contacted LexisNexis FL about a deceased notation on one of its products during the stated period, where LexisNexis FL has a record connecting the inquiry to a deceased, death, or dead notation.
  • Product Members are living people for whom a covered identity-verification or fraud-prevention transaction returned a deceased notation, where LexisNexis FL’s system reflected a deceased notation tied to information received from national credit reporting agencies.
  • This particular notice says its recipient was identified as a Product Member.

How much could a payment be?

Attorneys’ fees and costs are capped at 33.33% of the fund, and the named plaintiff’s service award is capped at $7,500. The court must decide whether to approve those requests.

  • The settlement fund is $13.5 million, but it also pays notice and administration costs, attorneys’ fees and costs, and a possible service award for the named plaintiff.
  • After those amounts are deducted, the rest is divided equally among eligible Contact and Product Members who submit Claim Forms.
  • The notice says each payment will be at least $150 and could be $1,000 or more. The exact amount is not set yet.

What does a Product Member need to do to seek payment?

The notice says a Claim Form is available online. It does not describe the form’s full submission method or any detailed supporting-document requirements.

  • Product Members must file a Claim Form by May 15, 2026, although the notice says that deadline may change.
  • A Product Member’s form must truthfully affirm or swear that the claimant is the person identified in the notice and is alive.
  • The notice does not say that a Product Member must provide documents showing financial loss.

What does the notice say about claims by Contact Members?

So, the notice supports that Contact Members who submit a Claim Form can share in the payment, but it does not give a complete Contact Member claim procedure.

  • The notice says payment is divided among both Contact Members and Product Members who submit Claim Forms.
  • However, its step-by-step claim instruction only addresses Product Members. It does not separately explain how a Contact Member gets, completes, or submits a form, or what proof a Contact Member needs.

When would payments be sent?

The final approval hearing is scheduled for March 16, 2026, at 11:00 a.m. Eastern Time, but the notice says the hearing can be postponed. That hearing date does not mean the settlement has been approved or that payments will be sent then.

  • Payment is not due just because someone files a form.
  • The court must give final approval, and any appeals must be resolved first. Appeals may delay payment.

What rights do I give up if I stay in the settlement?

The release extends beyond LexisNexis FL to listed related entities and people. The notice describes the scope in legal detail.

  • A person who stays in the settlement generally gives up covered claims against LexisNexis FL and other released parties that arose before the settlement’s Effective Date.
  • The release covers claims brought in this case, claims based on the same underlying events, and claims under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) or state equivalents.
  • Doing nothing does not preserve these rights. A Product Member who does nothing also will not receive a cash payment.

How can I exclude myself instead?

The notice warns that the deadline for a separate lawsuit continues to run even if you exclude yourself, and a claim may already have expired.

  • Excluding yourself means leaving the settlement. You will not receive a payment, but you keep your right to bring your own lawsuit about the claims at issue.
  • Mail a signed letter saying that you want to be excluded from the Settlement Class in Scroggins v. LNRS FL, along with your name, current mailing address, and current telephone number.
  • The exclusion request must be received by March 4, 2026 at the Settlement Administrator’s West Point, Pennsylvania address.

Can I keep any individual FCRA claim and still receive a payment?

The notice says the individual claim must not otherwise already be barred.

  • The reservation process is narrower than excluding yourself. It is for an individual claim for actual and/or punitive damages under 15 U.S.C. § 1681i after disputing an inaccurate report to LexisNexis FL.
  • It does not preserve statutory-damages claims or a class-action or mass-action claim.
  • A person who files both a Reservation Request and a Claim Form may still receive a settlement payment, but gives up the other claims covered by the settlement.
  • Send the Reservation Request Form or a signed letter with your full name, current mailing address, current telephone number, and original signature by mail or email no later than March 4, 2026.

How can I object to the settlement?

The court is scheduled to consider approval at a March 16, 2026 hearing in Richmond, Virginia. Attendance is optional.

  • Class Members who do not exclude themselves may object in writing by March 4, 2026.
  • The objection must be personally signed and include each objection, its factual and legal reasons, and the member’s name, address, and telephone number as proof of class membership.
  • Any evidence and legal support for the objection must be sent to the Settlement Administrator by the deadline.

Other Important Dates

  • Exclusion deadline: 2026-03-04
  • Objection deadline: 2026-03-04
  • Final approval hearing: March 16, 2026 at 11:00 a.m. Eastern Time
  • Hearing location: United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, Richmond Division, 701 E Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219

Case Details

  • Total settlement fund: $13,500,000.00
  • Case name: Scroggins v. LexisNexis Risk Solutions FL Inc.
  • Court: United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, Richmond Division
  • Administrator: Settlement Administrator
  • Official Settlement Website: https://www.DeceasedReportSuit.com

Sources

Official Settlement Website
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Visit Site →
Official Settlement Notice (PDF)
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits
Open PDF →

Official Notice

Read the notice PDF or the text version below.

Official Notice PDF
Some phones don’t display PDFs inside the page. Use the button below to open it.
Open PDF
Select this tab to load the official notice text.
Information last updated on 2026-10-07