The proposed settlements resolved antitrust claims that Tyson Foods and Cargill conspired to raise beef prices. Indirect buyers of certain fresh or frozen beef in listed states could claim a pro rata cash share of the $87.5 million total; claims closed June 30, 2026. The court has not yet granted final approval.

Benefit Summary
Eligible class members: available benefits include Pro rata cash payment.
Tyson and Cargill agreed to settlements totaling $87.5 million; the notice does not state the net amount available after fees, costs, or other deductions.
Available Awards
Pro rata cash payment
Who Is Included
You may be included if you indirectly bought eligible fresh or frozen chuck, loin, rib, or round beef for personal consumption from a grocery store or supermarket between August 1, 2014, and December 31, 2019, in a listed Repealer Jurisdiction. The notice excludes specified premium, specialty, and processed beef products.
- Products included: Fresh or frozen beef made from chuck, loin, rib, or round primal cuts.
- Purchase window: August 1, 2014, through December 31, 2019.
- Proof required: The notice requires a Claim Form with all required information, but it does not state whether documents proving purchases or monetary losses are required.
Claim and Payment Information
- Claim method: Online submission or mailed Claim Form.
- Claim deadline: 2026-06-30
- Instructions: Submit a Claim Form with all required information online or by mail. A mailed Claim Form must be postmarked by the deadline.
Questions & Answers
Does the notice say whether I need receipts or other proof?
Does the notice say whether I need receipts or other proof?
- The notice does not say whether you must provide receipts, store records, or other purchase documents.
- It says only that a Claim Form must include all required information. The detailed form requirements are not provided in this summary notice.
What is the difference between opting out and objecting?
What is the difference between opting out and objecting?
- Leaving the settlement is called opting out. You must send a written opt-out request by March 30, 2026.
- If you opt out, you will not receive money from the Tyson and Cargill settlements. You keep the right to bring your own lawsuit against those companies over the legal claims in this case.
- If you object, you must send a written objection by March 30, 2026. You remain bound by the settlements, but you may tell the Court why you believe they are unfair.
- The summary notice does not give the detailed instructions for submitting either an opt-out request or an objection.
What happens if I do nothing?
What happens if I do nothing?
- You will not receive a cash payment from these settlements.
- You will still be legally bound by the settlements and give up the right to sue Cargill and Tyson later over the covered claims.
Which companies settled, and which have not?
Which companies settled, and which have not?
- Tyson Foods and Cargill agreed to settle. Their settlements total $87.5 million: $55 million from Tyson and $32.5 million from Cargill.
- JBS USA Food Company, Swift Beef Company, JBS Packerland, Inc., and National Beef Packing Company have not settled.
- The notice does not describe what will happen next with the claims against the companies that have not settled.
Do I need to attend the fairness hearing, and are the settlements already approved?
Do I need to attend the fairness hearing, and are the settlements already approved?
- The Court scheduled a hearing for May 12, 2026, at 11:00 a.m. CDT. It will consider whether to approve the settlements, attorneys' fees, and service awards.
- You may attend yourself or have a lawyer attend, but attendance is not required.
- The notice says the Court had not ruled that the defendants did anything wrong, and the defendants deny the allegations. The hearing date alone does not mean that the settlements have been approved.
When will payments be sent, and how much will they be?
When will payments be sent, and how much will they be?
- The notice does not give a date for payments or state an individual payment amount.
- It says a qualifying claimant may receive a pro-rata cash payment based on the amount of included beef purchased during the class period. The actual payment therefore cannot be determined from this summary notice.
Other Important Dates
- Exclusion deadline: 2026-03-30
- Objection deadline: 2026-03-30
- Final approval hearing: May 12, 2026, at 11:00 a.m. CDT
Case Details
- Official Settlement Website: https://www.OverchargedForBeef.com
Sources
Claim form, FAQ, deadlines, administrator information
Court-approved notice describing eligibility and benefits